April 4-6

Log in

Abstract Details

files Add files

status:file name:submitted:by:
approvedsherwood2016yqliu-2.pdf2016-02-15 20:09:42Yaqi Liu


Author: Yaqi Liu
Requested Type: Poster
Submitted: 2016-02-15 20:05:34

Co-authors: Y. Q. Liu, H. S. Zhang, Z. Lin

Contact Info:
Peking University
No.5 Yiheyuan Road
Beijing, Beijing   100871

Abstract Text:
The beta-induced Alfven-acoustic eigenmode (BAAE) in toroidal plasmas is verified by GTC simulations using initial perturbation, antenna excitation, and energetic particle excitation, respectively. The BAAE can be excited by realistic energetic particle density gradient, even though the stable BAAE (in the absence of energetic particles) is heavily damped by the thermal ions. In the simulations with reversed magnetic shear, BAAE frequency sweeping is observed and poloidal mode structure has a triangle shape with a poloidal direction similar to that observed in tokamak experiments. The triangle shape changes the poloidal direction and no frequency sweeping is found in the simulations with normal magnetic shear [1].
When we decrease the tokamak size ITER to present-day tokamak, the most unstable modes change from BAAE to BAE (beta-induced Alfven eigenmode). For a certain tokamak size, BAE and BAAE coexist with similar linear growth rates. At nonlinear stage, BAE modes saturate first, while BAAE modes continue to grow until nonlinear modes with beating wave (sum of BAE and BAAE frequency) and positive frequencies are excited. The mode structures are consistent with the linear eigenmode structures of the dominant modes. In the long time simulation, amplitudes of BAE, BAAE, and beat waves oscillate, indicating mode energy nonlinearly transfers between them. Zonal fields suppress the mode coupling and energy transfer between BAE to BAAE, and reduce frequency chirping and saturation amplitudes. The growth rate of the zonal fields is about twice of the linear growth rate of BAE/BAAE.
[1] Gyrokinetic particle simulation of beta-induced Alfven-acoustic eigenmode, H. S. Zhang, Y. Q. Liu, Z. Lin, and W. L. Zhang, submitted to Phys. Plasmas, 2016.