2012 International Sherwood Fusion Theory Conference


Atlanta, Georgia
March 31-April 3, 2012

Joint APS April and Sherwood Fusion Theory Conference

Meet in Atlanta with plasma physicists, particle physicists, nuclear physicists, and astrophysicists to share research, results, and insights. A joint APS April Meeting and International Sherwood Fusion Theory Conference will share scientific sessions and activities during a four-day meeting in Atlanta, Georgia. The theme of the meeting is cosmic rays. Categories of the Sherwood sessions will include space and astrophysical plasma, inertial confinement and high energy density plasmas, magnetic confinement, plasma applications, and computational plasma physics. Attendees will have the opportunity to attend APS Division of Plasma Physics sessions that will include a plenary talk on the role of cosmic rays in astrophysical plasmas, and sessions on momentum transport in plasmas and the interaction of energetic particles with plasma waves. All plasma physics sessions will begin Sunday morning, April 1, and will continue through Tuesday noon, April 3, 2012.

The technical sessions and ancillary activities will be held in the Hyatt Regency, Atlanta, the headquarters hotel. To receive the meeting discount, housing arrangements must be made through the APS Online Housing Service by Friday, March 2, 2012.

For Sherwood attendees, there are two abstract submission deadlines: 

1) All Sherwood abstracts (poster and oral contributed) must be submitted to the APS online abstract submission site by Friday, January 6 at 5:00 PM EST. Style guidelines of submitted abstracts must comply with APS requirements for contributed presentations.

2) In addition, Sherwood presenters who wish to have their abstract considered for a 30-minute Sherwood oral presentation must submit a one-page abstract in pdf format to the Sherwood Program Committee Chair Chris Hegna by 3:00 PM EST on Monday, January 2, 2012.

Note these deadlines are earlier than a typical Sherwood abstract deadline. The first abstract submission deadline is necessary for all Sherwood abstract submissions to be in the online scientific program and printed in the APS Bulletin. The second abstract submission deadline of January 2 is only for presenters who seek an invited Sherwood talk, and is necessary for the Sherwood Program Committee to have time to decide on the oral program.

Luis Chacon, Sherwood Local Arrangements Committee Chair, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Fred Skiff, Division of Plasma Physics Chair Elect University of Iowa

Program Committee Members

Chris Hegna, Chair University of Wisconsin

Michael Barnes Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Paul Bonoli Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Luis Chacon Oak Ridge National
Laboratory (lch@ornl.gov)  

Gian Luca Delzanno Los Alamos National
Laboratory (delzanno@lanl.gov)  

Guoyong Fu Princeton Plasma Physics
Laboratory (fu@pppl.gov)